Five Oklahoma Players On Biletnikoff Award Watch List

Wednesday, July 6th 2011, 9:20 pm
By: News 9

TALLAHASEE, Florida -- The preseason Watch List for the 2011 Fred Biletnikoff Award was announced Wednesday and five in-state players made the list. Oklahoma's Ryan Broyles and Kenny Stills, Oklahoma State's Justin Blackmon and Josh Cooper and Tulsa's Demaris Johnson were all named players to watch for the award given to the nation's top receiver.

Blackmon, the reigning Biletnikoff Award winner, appeared in 12 of the Cowboys' 13 games in 2010, racking up 111 receptions for 1,782 yards and 20 touchdowns, averaging 148.5 yards per game. Cooper, his teammate, capitalized on the opportunities he was given, with 68 receptions for 736 yards and five scores in 2010, averaging 10.8 yards per reception.

For the Sooners, Broyles set the pace and kept up with Blackmon, amassing 1,622 yards and 14 scores on 131 receptions in 14 games for Oklahoma. As a freshman, Stills had a breakout season with 61 catches on 786 yards on five scores, averaging 12.9 yards per reception.

Johnson has been the do-everything man for Tulsa for two seasons, leading the nation in all-purpose yards for two consecutive seasons. As a receiver for the Golden Hurricane in 2010, Johnson racked up 872 yards on 57 catches and four touchdowns.

The 2011 Biletnikoff Award winner will be announced Dec. 8, 2011 at The Home Depot College Football Awards Show and will be presented Feb. 11, 2012 at the University Center Club Ballroom in Tallahassee, Fla.