OSU's Quinn Sharp On Ray Guy Award Watch List

Thursday, July 7th 2011, 8:05 pm
By: News 9


STILLWATER, Oklahoma – The Augusta Sports Council announced the preseason watch list for the Ray Guy Award Thursday, and Oklahoma State's Quinn Sharp was one of the five players recognized.

The Ray Guy Award is given annually to the nation's best punter and was awarded to Chas Henry of Florida last season.

Unlike other preseason watch lists, the Ray Guy Award starts with a small group and expands once the season starts. A complete list of candidates will be released on Oct. 28 before being reduced to 10 semifinalists on Nov. 11 and again to three finalists on Nov. 21.

This year's preseason list consists only of the five returning semifinalists. Sharp is the only junior, accompanied by seniors Bryan Anger of California, Drew Butler of Georgia, Kyle Martens of Rice and Dawson Zimmerman of Clemson.

Sharp's predecessor, Matt Fodge, was the last Cowboy to win the Ray Guy Award in 2008.