Preseason All-Big 12 Football Team Announced

Tuesday, July 19th 2011, 4:11 pm
By: News 9

IRVING, Texas – Tuesday the Big 12 Conference released its preseason All-Big 12 football team, and numerous player from the state of Oklahoma made the cut.

In total, 13 players from OU or OSU made the team and Oklahoma led the league with nine selections. Oklahoma State and Texas A&M each had four players selected.

Oklahoma State's Justin Blackmon has also been named the preseason offensive player of the year, while Oklahoma linebacker Travis Lewis was named the preseason defensive player of the year.

Both Oklahoma and Oklahoma State open the 2011-12 season September 3. OU hosts the University of Tulsa at 7 p.m. on Friday Sept. 3 and Oklahoma State will take on Louisiana-Lafayette, but that game time has not been announced at this time.

2011 Preseason All-Big 12 Football Team

Offensive Player of the Year: Justin Blackmon, Oklahoma State WR
Defensive Player of the Year: Travis Lewis, Oklahoma, LB
Newcomer of the Year: Malcolm Brown, Texas, RB

Ryan Broyes, Oklahoma, WR
Michael Egnew, Missouri, TE
Kelechi Osemele, Iowa State, OL
Levy Adcock, Oklahoma State, OL
Ben Habern, Oklahoma, C
Luke Joeckel, Texas A&M, OL
Lonnie Edwards, Texas Tech, OL
Justin Blackmon, Oklahoma State, WR
Landry Jones, Oklahoma, QB
Bryce Brown, Kansas State, RB
Roy Finch, Oklahoma, RB
Cyrus Gray, Texas A&M, RB
Grant Ressel, Missouri, PK
Coryell Judie, Texas A&M, KR

Brad Madison, Missouri, DL
Frank Alexander, Oklahoma, DL
Ronnell Lewis, Oklahoma, DL
Kheeston Randall, Texas, DL
Jake Knott, Iowa State, LB
Travis Lewis, Oklahoma, LB
Keenan Robinson, Texas, LB
Markelle Martin, Oklahoma State, DB
Demontre Hurst, Oklahoma, DB
Blake Gideon, Texas, DB
Coryell Judie, Texas A&M, DB
Quinn Sharp, Oklahoma State, P
Ryan Broyles, Oklahoma, PR