Jones, Weeden Named Semifinalists For O'Brien Award

Monday, October 24th 2011, 3:34 pm
By: News 9

FORT WORTH, Texas – Oklahoma's Landry Jones and Oklahoma State's Brandon Weeden have been named semifinalist for the 2011 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award.

Jones and Weeden are two of the sixteen chosen as semifinalists for the award that honors the nation's top quarterback based on their athletic ability, academics, character, leadership and sportsmanship.

Jones, a junior from Artesia, New Mexico has the Sooners off to a 6-1 start so far this season and he has completed 201-308 passes for 2,589 yards and 21 touchdowns so far this season—which ranks him third in the nation's passing leaders.

Weeden, a senior from Edmond, Okla. has led the Cowboys to a 7-0 start and a current No. 3 rank in the BCS Standings by completing 222-of-309 passes for 2,436 yards and 19 touchdowns. He averages 348.0 passing yards per game. With Weeden commanding the offense, Oklahoma State ranks second nationally in passing offense and scoring offense and is third nationally in total offense.

The sixteen finalists were narrowed down from a list of 120 quarterbacks across the nation and fans can vote as often

as once a day to help decide this year's winner. Visit to cast your vote, fan voting will close at noon (CT) on Nov. 20.

The Foundation and the Selection Committee will announce three finalists on Monday, Nov. 21 and the 2011 Davey O'Brien winner will be announced Thursday, Dec. 8 on ESPN.

2011 Davey O'Brien Semifinalists:
Matt Barkley, USC
Tajh Boyd, Clemson
Kirk Cousins, Michigan State
Seth Doege, Texas Tech
Robert Griffin III, Baylor
Landry Jones, Oklahoma
Case Keenum, Houston
Andrew Luck, Stanford
Kellen Moore, Boise St.
Keith Price, Washington
Denard Robinson, Michigan
Ryan Tannehill, Texas A&M
Darron Thomas, Oregon
Brandon Weeden, Oklahoma State
Russell Wilson, Wisconsin
Tyler Wilson, Arkansas