Three Named Walter Camp Semifinalists

Wednesday, November 16th 2011, 12:42 pm
By: News 9

The Walter Camp Football Foundation announced the semifinalists for its annual Walter Camp Player of the Year Award, with Justin Blackmon, Brandon Weeden and Landry Jones all making the cut to the top 15.

Weeden has inserted himself into the Heisman Trophy talk with his play as of late and will be in consideration for most major awards for which he is eligible. The senior is second in the nation in passing yardage with 3,635 yards, tied for second in touchdowns with 31 and is sixth in the nation in completion percentage, connecting on 73.1 percent of his attempts.

Jones sits three spots back in the yardage category with 3,349 yards in his third year at the helm for Oklahoma, while completing 254 of his 393 pass attempts and tossing 24 touchdowns. The junior is widely regarded as one of the top NFL quarterback prospects in the upcoming draft, the second quarterback on Mel Kiper's Big Board.

The defending Biletnikoff Award winner, Blackmon has continued to add to his record-setting performance in Stillwater. The junior receiver has caught 93 passes this season for 1,142 yards, good enough for fifth in the nation, and has scored 14 touchdowns, which is tied for the most in the nation.

The Walter Camp Award has been given out every year since 1967 to the top college football player in the nation. If Jones claims the prize he will be the fourth Sooner to earn the honor, while Weeden or Blackmon would be the second for OSU.

The Walter Camp Semifinalists:

QB Matt Barkley, USC

WR Justin Blackmon, Oklahoma State

CB Morris Claiborne, LSU

QB Robert Griffin, III, Baylor

QB Chandler Harnish, Northern Illinois

RB LaMichael James, Oregon

QB Landry Jones, Oklahoma

QB Case Keenum, Houston

LB Luke Kuechly, Boston College

QB Kellen Moore, Boise State

RB Trent Richardson, Alabama

WR Sammy Watkins, Clemson

QB Brandon Weeden, Oklahoma State

QB Russell Wilson, Wisconsin