Alexander, Garner, Sharp Named Big 12 Player of the Year

Wednesday, December 7th 2011, 12:54 pm
By: News 9

IRVING, Texas -- Oklahoma Sooners defensive end Frank Alexander was named Big 12 co-defensive Player of the Year and Defensive Lineman of the Year, Oklahoma State center Grant Garner was named Offensive Lineman of the Year and OSU punter/kicker Quinn Sharp was named Special Teams Player of the Year Wednesday.

Additionally, 21 Sooners and Cowboys were named All-Conference selections, including 13 on the first team.

In his first full season starting, Alexander – whose split title is the first in the history of the conference – wreaked havoc in the backfield for the Sooners this season, finishing first in the conference in tackles for loss with 18 and tied for first in sacks with 8.5. The senior defensive end was one of just five consecutive first-team All-Conference selections.

Garner – a second year starter at center – anchored an offensive line unit for the Cowboys that is one of the best in the country. The OSU offensive line averaged less than one sack allowed per game and allowed just 55 yards lost by running backs on 336 carries.

In his first year handling both kicking and punting duties, Sharp was a standout for the Cowboys. The junior was selected both first team All-Big 12 punter and kicker, missing just three field goals all year, averaging 46 yards per punt on 42 attempts and had 56 of his 107 kickoffs go for touchbacks.

Offensive Player of the Year

QB Robert Griffin III, Baylor

Offensive Freshman of the Year

WR Tyler Lockett, Kansas State

Co-Defensive Players of the Year

LB A.J. Klein, Iowa State

DE Frank Alexander, Oklahoma

Defensive Freshman of the Year

DB Quandre Diggs, Texas

Special Teams Player of the Year

PK/P Quinn Sharp, Oklahoma State

Offensive Lineman of the Year

C Grant Garner, Oklahoma State

Offensive Newcomer of the Year

WR Aaron Horne, Iowa State

Defensive Lineman of the Year

DE Frank Alexander, Oklahoma

Defensive Newcomer of the Year

LB Arthur Brown, Kansas State, Jr.

Coach of the Year

Bill Snyder, Kansas State, 20th Season



QB Robert Griffin III, Baylor 

RB Terrance Ganaway, Baylor

RB Henry Josey, Missouri 

FB Trey Millard Oklahoma

WR Kendall Wright** Baylor ,

WR Ryan Broyles, Oklahoma 

WR Justin Blackmon** Oklahoma State

TE Michael Egnew, Missouri

OL Philip Blake, Baylor

OL Kelechi Osemele, Iowa State

OL Clyde Aufner, Kansas State

OL Gabe Ikard, Oklahoma

OL Levy Adcock** Oklahoma State 

OL Grant Garner, Oklahoma State

PK Quinn Sharp Oklahoma State

KR/PR Fozzy Whittaker Texas


DL Ray Kibble Kansas State Sr. Houston, Texas/Navarro JC

DL Frank Alexander ** Oklahoma

DL Ronnell Lewis, Oklahoma

DL Jamie Blatnick, Oklahoma State

DL Alex Okafor** Texas

LB A.J. Klein, Iowa State 

LB Arthur Brown, Kansas State,

LB Emmanuel Acho, Texas

DB Nigel Malone, Kansas State

DB Jamell Fleming, Oklahoma

DB Brodrick Brown, Oklahoma State

DB Markelle Martin, Oklahoma State

DB Kenny Vaccaro, Texas

P Quinn Sharp, Oklahoma State

** Indicates Unanimous Selection



QB Brandon Weeden, Oklahoma State

RB Joseph Randle, Oklahoma State

RB Cyrus Gray, Texas A&M

FB Kye Staley, Oklahoma State

WR Kenny Stills, Oklahoma

WR Josh Cooper, Oklahoma State

WR Ryan Swope, Texas A&M

TE James Hanna, Oklahoma

OL Robert T. Griffin, Baylor

OL Hayworth Hicks, Iowa State,

OL Jeremiah Hatch, Kansas

OL Zach Hanson, Kansas State

OL Luke Joeckel, Texas A&M

OL LaAdrian Waddle, Texas Tech

PK Randy Bullock, Texas A&M

KR/PR Tyler Lockett, Kansas State


DL Nicolas Jean-Baptiste, Baylor

DL Jacquies Smith, Missouri

DL Jackson Jeffcoat, Texas,

DL Kheeston Randall, Texas

DL Tony Jerod-Eddie, Texas A&M,

LB Jake Knott, Iowa State

LB Travis Lewis, Oklahoma

LB Keenan Robinson, Texas

DB Leonard Johnson, Iowa State

DB Tysyn Hartman, Kansas State

DB E.J. Gaines, Missouri

DB Demontre Hurst, Oklahoma Jr.

DB Quandre Diggs, Texas

P Trey Barrow, Missouri