Oklahoma State Football Players Earn All-Big 12 Honors

Wednesday, December 5th 2012, 6:08 pm
By: News 9

Headlined by unanimous selections Joseph Randle and Lane Taylor, Oklahoma State has five players on the 2012 First-Team All-Big 12 squad as chosen by the league's coaches.

Also securing first-team spots were kicker and punter Quinn Sharp (first-team honors at both positions for the second consecutive year) and defensive tackle Calvin Barnett.

Sharp was recognized as the Big 12 Co-Special Teams Player of the Year along with West Virginia return man Tavon Austin. Barnett was singled out as the Big 12 Defensive Newcomer of the Year and quarterback J.W. Walsh took home Offensive Freshman of the Year accolades.

Second-team honorees from Oklahoma State were fullback Kye Staley and kick returner/punt returner Justin Gilbert, with James Castleman (DL), Parker Graham (OL), Caleb Lavey (LB), Shaun Lewis (LB), Kevin Peterson (Def. FoY), and Josh Stewart (WR) all receiving honorable mention.

On the AP All-Big 12 squad, Lane Taylor, Joseph Randle, Josh Stewart and Quinn Sharp all secured 2012 First-Team honors. Sharp earned the honor as both a punter and a kicker.

OSU's five first-team spots trailed only league champion Kansas State, who had six.

Cowboys on the AP's second-team All-Big 12 squad were defensive lineman Calvin Barnett and linebacker Shaun Lewis.

Earning honorable mention were offensive lineman Jonathan Rush, tight end Blake Jackson, linebacker Alex Elkins and safety Daytawion Lowe.