RiverHawk Athletes Earn Academic Awards

Tuesday, January 15th 2013, 3:44 pm
By: News 9

Northeastern State University recognizes student-athletes who are also excelling in the classroom.

The fall semester grades have all been reported, and 54 percent of NSU student-athletes attained a grade-point average of 3.0 or better. Of the 268 full-time NSU student-athletes (12 credit hours or more), 144 recorded at least a 3.0.

All 144 will be recognized at the men's and women's basketball games this upcoming Saturday, Jan. 19, when the RiverHawks play host to Washburn beginning at 1:30 p.m. inside Jack Dobbins Field House. Every male student-athlete who earned a 3.0 or better will be recognized at halftime of the women's game, while all the females will be recognized at halftime of the men's game.

"The fact that our student-athletes can excel to this level athletically and academically is very impressive," said Bill Nowlin, Assistant Athletic Director for Academic Services. "It really shows the dedication and commitment of all the individuals both in the classroom and in their sport. The main thing we have to remember is why they're in college, and that is to get an education."

There were 18 individuals who were named to the President's Honor Roll (4.0 GPA) and 50 named to the Dean's Honor Roll (3.5 – 3.99 GPA and no grade lower than a B).

The average GPA of all student athletes was 2.9. A complete list of every student-athlete can be found below.

Fabio Arcelay
Brandon Compton (Dean's Honor Roll)
Jordan Dallalio
Chad Davidson (Dean's Honor Roll)
Clay Debban
Slater Dunn
Scott Hauck
Caleb Hill (Dean's Honor Roll)
Greg Jackson (President's Honor Roll)
Gavin Johnson
Wilson Klutts (Dean's Honor Roll)
Keegan Knight (Dean's Honor Roll)
Zach Poehl
Cody Robinson
Hayden Walch
David Weber
Trent Wilkins
Tyler Wilkins (Dean's Honor Roll)
Addison Williams (President's Honor Roll)

Men's Basketball
Ethan Anderson
Dakota Caudill (Dean's Honor Roll)
Landon DeMasters (President's Honor Roll)
Bryton Hobbs
Zach Jones
Matt Logan
Jack Miller (Dean's Honor Roll)
Jon Miller (Dean's Honor Roll)

Women's Basketball
Kate Bellamy (President's Honor Roll)
Taylor Collins (Dean's Honor Roll)
Courtney Cowan (Dean's Honor Roll)
Carrington Fox (President's Honor Roll)
Sarah Green
Melissa Jones (Dean's Honor Roll)
Lexie Lewis
Taylor Lewis (Dean's Honor Roll)
Laura Reel
Chelsey Stricklen (Dean's Honor Roll)
Fontana Tate

Logan Andrews
Jeremy Applegate (Dean's Honor Roll)
Hudson Baab (President's Honor Roll)
Dylan Beers
Daniel Bond
Josh Cousins
Devin Crisp
Lane Dortch
Ross Dvorak (Dean's Honor Roll)
Ryan Dvorak
Tyler Easter
Zach Eggleston (Dean's Honor Roll)
Brennen Evans (Dean's Honor Roll)
Anthony Frazier (Dean's Honor Roll)
Cale Fulps (Dean's Honor Roll)
Kyler Harris (Dean's Honor Roll)
James Harrison
Chandler Heath
Cody Heaton (Dean's Honor Roll)
Stephen Huckaby (President's Honor Roll)
Aaron Kirkpatrick
Ethan Ladymon
David Lewis
Thor Long
Kyle Matheson (President's Honor Roll)
Dallas McCutcheon (Dean's Honor Roll)
Austin Mefford
Dakota Moran
Colten Nevel
Josiah Reed (Dean's Honor Roll)
Max Simmons (Dean's Honor Roll)
Zack Simmons (Dean's Honor Roll)
Alan Stroup
Tracey Walker
Nick Whitlow (Dean's Honor Roll)

Men's Golf
Jacob Bartel (President's Honor Roll)
Jonas Granel
Brad Hager (Dean's Honor Roll)
Jackson Hess
Jordan Perceful
Michael Varner (Dean's Honor Roll)

Women's Golf
Arizona Chin (Dean's Honor Roll)
Alex Koch (Dean's Honor Roll)
Katie Lemler (Dean's Honor Roll)
McCandren Lewis (President's Honor Roll)
Whitney McAteer (President's Honor Roll)
Kayla Schroeder (President's Honor Roll)

Men's Soccer
Bobby Behrens (Dean's Honor Roll)
Brenden Bombardier (Dean's Honor Roll)
Brandon Carter
Eric Crawford
Frank Garay
Edgar Gonzaga
Chasse Jerson (Dean's Honor Roll)
Jordan Ladbrooke (Dean's Honor Roll)
Crosby Lee (Dean's Honor Roll)
Chance Miller
Juan Peralta
Paul Samia (Dean's Honor Roll)
Jordan Schmoker
Jordon Smith
Henry Wildenborg (President's Honor Roll)
Jeff Wispell

Women's Soccer
Haley Bravo
Hannah Brudzinski
Emily Burch (Dean's Honor Roll)
Erika Chance (Dean's Honor Roll)
Krista Dyess (Dean's Honor Roll)
Kaili Endres
Kelsey Fisher
Rachel Gleason (President's Honor Roll)
Rocky Herrera (Dean's Honor Roll)
Morgan Hoerth
Lindsey Latta
McKenzie Musella (President's Honor Roll)
Salina Owens (Dean's Honor Roll)
Brittany Pearsall
Jessy Phillips
Kelsey Sheldon
Rachel Sordahl
Cassidy Spriggs (President's Honor Roll)
Jolene Thompson (President's Honor Roll)
Hisa Turner
Emily Voges (Dean's Honor Roll)

Ashton Bruce
Krysti Cearley (Dean's Honor Roll)
Kylee Cole
Cayce Coleman (President's Honor Roll)
Taylor Collins (President's Honor Roll)
Laquita Drew (Dean's Honor Roll)
Alex Files
Kelsi Hilderbrandt
Danielle Huval
Jessica Kelly
Allyson Pogue
Lisa Ripperger

Women's Tennis
Ivana Belejova
Houda Bellamine (Dean's Honor Roll)
Martina Bruzikova
Lucia Cerchlanova (Dean's Honor Roll)
Barbora Jirickova (Dean's Honor Roll)
Jeanne Mallem (Dean's Honor Roll)
Kristina Savchenkov