Keith Jackson To Receive NCAA Silver Anniversary Award

Friday, January 18th 2013, 2:26 pm
By: News 9

Two-time University of Oklahoma football All-America honoree Keith Jackson will be one of six former student-athletes to receive the 2013 NCAA Silver Anniversary Award. The NCAA will recognize these collegiate greats during the 2013 NCAA Convention in Grapevine, Texas.

The Silver Anniversary Award annually recognizes distinguished individuals on the 25th anniversary of the conclusion of their collegiate athletics careers. OU vice president for intercollegiate athletic programs and director of athletics Joe Castiglione will present Jackson with the honor. Jackson will become second former Oklahoma student-athlete to receive this award. Two-time All-America selection Lee Roy Selmon was the first Sooner to claim the honor in 2001.

"Keith Jackson continues to serve as an exemplary ambassador for the University of Oklahoma," Castiglione said. "While Keith owns a prominent place in OU history for his athletic accomplishments, the work his foundation has done is truly remarkable, helping countless youth overcome daily obstacles in pursuing a high school education. Keith believes his opportunities began with his collegiate experience at OU and he is intent on sharing that with teenagers in his hometown who are willing to make a similar commitment to education. I will join many of Keith's coaches and former teammates in applauding his tremendous achievements when he receives the NCAA Silver Anniversary Award, a richly-deserved honor."

Former OU head coaches Barry Switzer and John Blake are anticipated to attend the event along with numerous Sooners' greats, including Dewey Selmon, Dante Jones, Spencer Tillman, Curtice Williams, Duncan Parham, Frank Blevins, Rickey Dixon, Caesar Rentie, Lydell Carr and Jakie Sandefer.

In addition to Jackson, other honorees will include Bob Cottingham, Dylann Duncan Ceriani, Yolanda ‘Gail' Devers, Chad Hennings and Patrick McEnroe.

Jackson was consensus All-American for OU in both 1986 and 1987 and was named all-conference from 1985-87. He caught 62 passes for 1,470 yards and 14 touchdowns in his career. He recorded 28.8 yards per reception as a junior, 27.5 as a senior and 23.7 for his career.

His versatility made him not only a great receiver and blocker, but also a rushing threat. He had a run of 66 yards against Minnesota during his junior year and finished his career with 289 yards on 20 attempts, an average of 14.5 yards per rush. Jackson became the first Sooner to receive the NCAA Top Six Award.

He was the 13th player taken in the 1988 draft by the Philadelphia Eagles and spent nine years in the NFL. A six-team Pro Bowl selection, Jackson was a member of the Green Bay's Super Bowl XXXI championship team.

He was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in December 2001.