Shields Honored As 2013 Gallagher Award Recipient

Tuesday, March 5th 2013, 3:28 pm
By: News 9

Oklahoma State alumnus and Jenks assistant wrestling coach Jim Shields will receive the 2013 Gallagher Award, OSU wrestling coach John Smith announced. Shields started for the Cowboys in 1971 and served as an assistant coach there from 1988-91.

According to OSU Athletics, the Gallagher Award is an annual award given to an OSU alumnus who exemplifies the spirit and leadership eminent in the tradition of champions. Shields will receive the award before the Bedlam dual on March 8.

"First of all, it's a very humbling feeling to be recognized as the recipient of this award," Shields said. "It's the ultimate for any former OSU wrestling alum to even be considered for it, much less actually receive it. I've known almost all of the Gallagher Award winners and it's awesome to be included in that elite group. These are people that wrestlers hold in the highest regards for both their great wrestling accomplishments and contributions to OSU and the world's oldest sport."

"Jim Shields demonstrates everything the Gallagher Award represents, a lifetime commitment to wrestling," Smith said. "We're honored to present him with this award."

In 1971, Shields claimed the Big Eight title at 177 pounds, and that same season, he moved to heavyweight for the NCAA tournament, where he finished third and compiled a 19-4-2 record for the season.

He was a part of three Oklahoma State NCAA title teams, in 1971 as an athlete and in 1989 and 1990 as an assistant coach.

After his time at OSU, Shields went on to coach high school wrestling in Tulsa, Okla., where he led East Central to a state title and Bishop Kelley to two state titles. He also spent time coaching in California and Kentucky, leading teams to three more state titles.

In 2010, he was honored by the Oklahoma chapter of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame and received the Lifetime Service to Wrestling Award.

Gallagher Award Recipients

1986 - Rex Peery

1987 - Frank Lewis

1988 - Myron Roderick

1989 - Tommy Chesbro

1990 - Joe McDaniel 

1991 - John W. Divine

1996 - Ray Murphy

1997 - John Smith

1998 - Grady Peninger

1999 - Kenny Monday

2000 - Pat Smith

2001 - Kendall Cross

2002 - Mike Sheets

2003 - Doug Blubaugh

2004 - Grover Rains

2005 - Bobby Douglas

2006 - Charles Hetrick

2007 - Fred Davis

2008 - Lee Roy Smith

2009 - Bobby Stites

2010 - Bill Harlow

2011 - Eddie Griffin

2013 - Jim Shields