OSU In Second Place; Oliver, Perry Advance to NCAA Finals

Friday, March 22nd 2013, 11:20 pm
By: News 9

Oklahoma State wrestling's Jordan Oliver and Chris Perry advanced to the NCAA Wrestling Championships finals after prevailing in Friday night's semifinals, at 149 pounds and 174 pounds, respectively. The finals will begin tomorrow night at 7 p.m.

The Pokes remain in second place in the team race with 94 points; Penn State is the leader with 114.5 points.

For the third-consecutive year, No. 1 seed Oliver finds himself on the big stage in the finals after burying Steve Santos, 13-4. The senior seeks his second national title, and the only thing standing in his way is the No. 2 seed, Jason Chamberlain from Boise State. The two will battle it out tomorrow night in 149-pound final.

"I'm looking for perfection in all my matches. I'm trying to hit the perfect shot, the perfect set-up and have everything come and feel perfect," Oliver said. "Sometimes it never happens, but if you're shooting for perfection, you're going to achieve excellence. So I believe that my best wrestling is still to come in the finals."

The Cowboys' other No. 1 seed, Chris Perry, is also vying for a title at 174 pounds. Perry slid by Nebraska's Robert Kokesh, picking up a 4-2 victory in sudden victory, making it his second overtime win of the day. Waiting for the Cowboy junior in the finals will be Penn State's Matt Brown, the No. 2 seed.

"It's just been a dream of mine since I was a little kid to walk on that stage," Perry said. "I've had the NCAA finals stage on the background of my phone since I was in the ninth grade. I came close. I've put time in. I have a lot of people that count on me. I think it was just kind of a relief to finally get there, and tomorrow I'll let it all hang out."

In the 157-pound semifinals, redshirt freshman Alex Dieringer suffered a heartbreaking 3-2 loss in the second tiebreaker against No. 1 seed Derek St. John from Iowa. Dieringer will take on Jedd Moore of Virginia in the morning in the sixth round of wrestlebacks. Should he win, he'll get a shot at a third-place finish.

Tyler Caldwell took on the top-seed Kyle Dake in the 165-pound semis, where Dake pulled out the victory with just an escape and a riding time point. Caldwell was sent to the sixth round wrestle backs and will go head-to-head with Conrad Polz for the second time this season. Their first meeting resulted in a 2-0 win for the Cowboy.

Heavyweight Alan Gelogaev took a troublesome loss in the semis to Tony Nelson, who picked up a takedown in the finals seconds to knock Gelogaev out of the championship bracket. The senior will challenge Zac Thomusseit of Pitt in the wrestlebacks tomorrow morning.

Jon Morrison secured All-American status this evening, storming past Virginia's George DiCamillo, 10-2. In his second match of the night, Morrison took on Nathan McCormick for the fifth time this season and emerged the 10-2 victor. The junior begins tomorrow with a battle against A.J. Schopp of Edinboro.

Blake Rosholt became the seventh All-American for the Cowboys after he dominated Christian Boley in a 10-2 match. He advanced to the fifth round wrestlebacks where he met up with No. 10 seed Scott Schiller of Minnesota, who topped the Cowboy, 5-2. Rosholt will wrestle for seventh place in the morning against Alfonso Hernandez of Wyoming.

The third-eighth place medal matches will begin tomorrow at 10 a.m. with the finals beginning at 7 p.m. in Wells Fargo Arena. Fans can keep up with the Pokes on ESPNU in the morning and ESPN in the evening.


Team Standings

1. Penn State – 114.5 points

2. Oklahoma State – 94 points

3. Minnesota – 86 points

4. Iowa – 68 points

5. Cornell – 51 points

6. Missouri – 47.5 points

7. Ohio State – 46 points

T8. Iowa State – 41 points

T8. Oregon State – 41 points

10. Virginia Tech – 40 points


Oklahoma State results

Championship first round

125: Steve Mitcheff (Kent State) dec. Eddie Klimara (OSU), 6-2

133: Jon Morrison (OSU) MD Mackenzie Maguire (Kent State), 8-0

141: Steven Keith (Harvard) fall Julian Feikert (OSU), 3:39

149: Jordan Oliver (OSU) MD David Habat (Edinboro), 16-6

157: Alex Dieringer (OSU) MD Ryan Watts (Michigan State), 9-1

165: Tyler Caldwell (OSU) MD Pierce Hager (Northwestern), 9-1

174: Chris Perry (OSU) dec. Cody Weishoff (Oregon State), 5-4

184: Max Thomusseit (Pittsburgh) dec. Chris Chionuma (OSU), 4-1

197: Blake Rosholt (OSU) dec. Braden Atwood (Purdue), 3-2

285: Alan Gelogaev (OSU) fall Ben Apland (Michigan), 0:18

Championship second round

133: Jon Morrison (OSU) dec. Scotti Sentes (Central Michigan), 3-1

149: Jordan Oliver (OSU) MD Derek Valenti (Virginia), 13-3

157: Alex Dieringer (OSU) MD Spartak Chino (Ohio), 9-0

165: Tyler Caldwell (OSU) dec. Josh Condon (Chattanooga), 4-2

174: Chris Perry (OSU) dec. Jonathan Fausey (Virginia), 4-0

197: Blake Rosholt (OSU) dec. Kyven Gadson (Iowa State), 8-7

285: Alan Gelogaev (OSU) fall Jeremy Johnson (Ohio), 0:34

Championship quarterfinals

133: Tony Ramos (Iowa) dec. Jon Morrison (OSU), 6-1

149: Jordan Oliver (OSU) MD Jake Sueflohn (Nebraska), 11-3

157: Alex Dieringer (OSU) dec. Georgi Ivanov (Boise State), 6-4

165: Tyler Caldwell (OSU) dec. Taylor Massa (Michigan), 3-1

174: Chris Perry (OSU) dec. Nick Heflin (Ohio State), 3-2 TB1

197: Matt Wilps (Pittsburgh) dec. Blake Rosholt (OSU), 7-1

285: Alan Gelogaev (OSU) dec. J.T. Felix (Boise State), 10-5

Championship semifinals

149: Jordan Oliver (OSU) MD Steve Santos (Columbia), 13-4

157: Derek St. John (Iowa) dec. Alex Dieringer (OSU), 3-2

165: Kyle Dake (Cornell) dec. Tyler Caldwell (OSU), 2-0

174: Chris Perry (OSU) dec. Robert Kokesh (Nebraska), 4-2 SV2

HWT: Tony Nelson (Minnesota) dec. Alan Gelogaev (OSU), 5-4

Consolation pigtails

125: Eddie Klimara (OSU) dec. Max Soria (Buffalo), 8-1

Wrestleback first round

125: Eddie Klimara (OSU) MD Ben Willeford (Cleveland State), 11-2

141: Julian Feikert (OSU) dec. Joseph Spisak (Virginia), 8-5

184: Chris Chionuma (OSU) fall MacKain Stoll (North Dakota State), 2:26

Wrestleback second round

125: Eddie Klimara (OSU) dec. Christian Cullinan (Central Michigan), 6-3

141: Joey Lazor (Northern Iowa) dec. Julian Feikert (OSU), 7-2

184: Jacob Swartz (Boise State) dec. Chris Chionuma (OSU), 6-4

Wrestleback third round

125: Tyler Cox (Wyoming) dec. Eddie Klimara (OSU), 11-7

Wrestleback fourth round

133: Jon Morrison (OSU) MD Geroge DiCamillo (Virginia), 10-2

197: Blake Rosholt (OSU) MD Christian Boley (Maryland), 10-2

Wrestleback fifth round

133: Jon Morrison (OSU) MD Nathan McCormick (Missouri), 10-2

197: Scott Schiller (Minnesota) dec. Blake Rosholt (OSU), 5-2

Championship finals schedule

149: Jordan Oliver (OSU) vs. Jason Chamberlain (Boise State)

174: Chris Perry (OSU) vs. Matt Brown (Penn State)

Wrestlebacks sixth round schedule

133: Jon Morrison (OSU) vs. A.J. Schopp (Edinboro)

157: Alex Dieringer (OSU) vs. Jedd Moore (Virginia)

165: Tyler Caldwell (OSU) vs. Conrad Polz (Illinois)

HWT: Alan Gelogaev (OSU) vs. Zac Thomusseit (Pittsburgh)

Seventh place schedule

197: Blake Rosholt (OSU) vs. Alfonso Hernandez (Wyoming)