OSU Finishes Second; OSU With Two Individual Champions, OU With One

Sunday, March 24th 2013, 12:21 am
By: News 9

The Oklahoma State wrestling team produced a runner-up finish at the 2013 NCAA Championships, falling four points behind Penn State, who took its third consecutive title. OSU's run at the title was highlighted by two national champions in senior Jordan Oliver and junior Chris Perry and seven Cowboys earning All-American status. The Oklahoma Sooners also had an individual champion with Kendric Maple at 141 pounds.

In the 174-pound finals, Perry took on the No. 2 seed Matt Brown from Penn State in the opening match of the finals. With no points scored in the first, Brown earned an escape point just seconds into the second period, and Perry answered with an escape of his own in the third, tying the score 1-1.

The bout went into a sudden victory period that saw shots from both opponents, but no points were awarded, taking the match to a tiebreaker. In the first period of the tiebreaker, Perry rode out Brown for the full 30 seconds. Perry earned a quick escape in the second period of the tiebreaker and held off Brown for the remaining time to claim a 2-1 win and the 174-pound national title.

Perry's win put the Cowboys on top in the team race by one point, but it was not enough as Penn State went on to win the finals at 184 pounds and 197 pounds to clinch the team title.

There was still one more Cowboy who had some work to do.

Senior Jordan Oliver ended an outstanding collegiate career capturing his second national championship when he defeated No. 2 Jason Chamberlain of Boise State, 3-2, in the 149-pound finals.

Similar to Perry's match, Oliver's bout with Chamberlain was scoreless after the first. Escaping quickly in the second period, Oliver carried a 1-0 lead into the final period. Chamberlain tied the score, 1-1, with an escape, but Oliver put the nail in the coffin with a takedown in the final 10 seconds to win it.

Not only did Oliver win every match this season to finish 37-0, but he did it without giving up a single takedown.

The Easton, Pa., native became the program's 13th four-time All-American, and finished his career with a 126-6 overall record, tying him for fifth in all-time wins in OSU history. In his time as a Poke, Oliver finished with a title at 133 pounds and 149 pounds, a runner-up finish and a fourth-place finish at the NCAA tournament.

Oklahoma State finished the season with seven All-Americans in Jon Morrison, Alex Dieringer, Tyler Caldwell, Blake Rosholt, Alan Gelogaev, Oliver and Perry. The last time the Cowboys had seven All-Americans was in the 2005 NCAA Championships.

The Cowboys have earned a total of 435 All-Americans and 136 national champions. In his 22 years at the helm of the program, Smith has coached 102 All-Americans and 26 national champions.

Maple became the first Sooner to take home an individual championship in eight years, since Teyon Ware claimed the 141-pound title in 2005, after he topped Edinboro's No. 4 Mitchell Port with a 4-3 decision. With the title, he becomes Oklahoma's 66th individual national champion in program history.

Additionally, Maple is the first national champion produced by Oklahoma head coach Mark Cody. The Wichita, Kan., native nabbed the victory with a 4-3 decision, based on riding time advantage points.


Team results

1. Penn State – 123.5 points

2. Oklahoma State – 119.5 points

3. Minnesota – 103 points

4. Iowa – 73 points

5. Cornell – 65 points


Oklahoma State results

Championship first round

125: Steve Mitcheff (Kent State) dec. Eddie Klimara (OSU), 6-2

133: Jon Morrison (OSU) MD Mackenzie Maguire (Kent State), 8-0

141: Steven Keith (Harvard) fall Julian Feikert (OSU), 3:39

149: Jordan Oliver (OSU) MD David Habat (Edinboro), 16-6

157: Alex Dieringer (OSU) MD Ryan Watts (Michigan State), 9-1

165: Tyler Caldwell (OSU) MD Pierce Hager (Northwestern), 9-1

174: Chris Perry (OSU) dec. Cody Weishoff (Oregon State), 5-4

184: Max Thomusseit (Pittsburgh) dec. Chris Chionuma (OSU), 4-1

197: Blake Rosholt (OSU) dec. Braden Atwood (Purdue), 3-2

285: Alan Gelogaev (OSU) fall Ben Apland (Michigan), 0:18

Championship second round

133: Jon Morrison (OSU) dec. Scotti Sentes (Central Michigan), 3-1

149: Jordan Oliver (OSU) MD Derek Valenti (Virginia), 13-3

157: Alex Dieringer (OSU) MD Spartak Chino (Ohio), 9-0

165: Tyler Caldwell (OSU) dec. Josh Condon (Chattanooga), 4-2

174: Chris Perry (OSU) dec. Jonathan Fausey (Virginia), 4-0

197: Blake Rosholt (OSU) dec. Kyven Gadson (Iowa State), 8-7

285: Alan Gelogaev (OSU) fall Jeremy Johnson (Ohio), 0:34

Championship quarterfinals

133: Tony Ramos (Iowa) dec. Jon Morrison (OSU), 6-1

149: Jordan Oliver (OSU) MD Jake Sueflohn (Nebraska), 11-3

157: Alex Dieringer (OSU) dec. Georgi Ivanov (Boise State), 6-4

165: Tyler Caldwell (OSU) dec. Taylor Massa (Michigan), 3-1

174: Chris Perry (OSU) dec. Nick Heflin (Ohio State), 3-2 TB1

197: Matt Wilps (Pittsburgh) dec. Blake Rosholt (OSU), 7-1

285: Alan Gelogaev (OSU) dec. J.T. Felix (Boise State), 10-5

Championship semifinals

149: Jordan Oliver (OSU) MD Steve Santos (Columbia), 13-4

157: Derek St. John (Iowa) dec. Alex Dieringer (OSU), 3-2

165: Kyle Dake (Cornell) dec. Tyler Caldwell (OSU), 2-0

174: Chris Perry (OSU) dec. Robert Kokesh (Nebraska), 4-2 SV2

HWT: Tony Nelson (Minnesota) dec. Alan Gelogaev (OSU), 5-4

Championship finals

149: Jordan Oliver (OSU) dec. Jason Chamberlain (Boise State), 3-2

174: Chris Perry (OSU) dec. Matt Brown (Penn State), 2-1 TB1

Consolation pigtails

125: Eddie Klimara (OSU) dec. Max Soria (Buffalo), 8-1

Wrestleback first round

125: Eddie Klimara (OSU) MD Ben Willeford (Cleveland State), 11-2

141: Julian Feikert (OSU) dec. Joseph Spisak (Virginia), 8-5

184: Chris Chionuma (OSU) fall MacKain Stoll (North Dakota State), 2:26

Wrestleback second round

125: Eddie Klimara (OSU) dec. Christian Cullinan (Central Michigan), 6-3

141: Joey Lazor (Northern Iowa) dec. Julian Feikert (OSU), 7-2

184: Jacob Swartz (Boise State) dec. Chris Chionuma (OSU), 6-4

Wrestleback third round

125: Tyler Cox (Wyoming) dec. Eddie Klimara (OSU), 11-7

Wrestleback fourth round

133: Jon Morrison (OSU) MD Geroge DiCamillo (Virginia), 10-2

197: Blake Rosholt (OSU) MD Christian Boley (Maryland), 10-2

Wrestleback fifth round

133: Jon Morrison (OSU) MD Nathan McCormick (Missouri), 10-2

197: Scott Schiller (Minnesota) dec. Blake Rosholt (OSU), 5-2

Wrestlebacks sixth round

133: A.J. Schopp (Edinboro) dec. Jon Morrison (OSU), 9-3

157: Alex Dieringer (OSU) MD Jedd Moore (Virginia), 12-2

165: Tyler Caldwell (OSU) dec. Conrad Polz (Illinois), 2-1

HWT: Alan Gelogaev (OSU) dec. Zac Thomusseit (Pittsburgh), 4-3

Third place match

157: Alex Dieringer (OSU) fall David Bonin (Northern Iowa), 1:39

165: Tyler Caldwell (OSU) dec. Peter Yates (Virginia Tech), 5-1

HWT: Alan Gelogaev (OSU) dec. Dom Bradley (Missouri), 3-2

Fifth place match

133: Jon Morrison (OSU) dec. Chris Dardanes (Minnesota), 6-4

Seventh place match

197: Alfonso Hernandez (Wyoming) dec. Blake Rosholt (OSU), 7-4