Three Cowboys, Two Sooners Make Preseason All-Big 12

Wednesday, July 17th 2013, 12:39 pm
By: News 9

Cowboys Josh Stewart, Calvin Barnett and Shaun Lewis and Sooners Gabe Ikard and Aaron Colvin were selected for the 2013 preseason All-Big 12 Team by the media on Wednesday.

For Ikard, it's his third straight year on the preseason team, but his first as a center. The rest are first-time preseason honorees. Colvin notched four interceptions and 11 pass breakups a season ago after transitioning from safety back to cornerback. The Owasso product passed on the NFL Draft to return for his senior season in Norman. Both Ikard and Colvin were All-Big 12 first team in 2012.

Stewart was a safe bet to make the team from Oklahoma State after racking up 101 receptions for 1,210 yards and seven scores as a sophomore last year. He tops the list of Big 12 returning receivers in receptions and receiving yards per game.

Barnett made the All-Big 12 First Team and was the Big 12 Defensive Newcomer of the Year a year ago after transferring to OSU from Navarro Community College. The lineman garnered 30 tackles and eight tackles for loss as a junior.

Lewis has been the model of consistency for the Cowboys over the past three years. The outside linebacker made the All-Big 12 Second Team last year after collecting 51 solo tackles and three sacks.

Preseason Player of the Year Awards went to Baylor's Lache Seastrunk (RB) on the offensive side and TCU's Devonte Fields (DL) on the defensive side. West Virginia's Charles Sims (RB), a Houston transfer, was chosen as the preseason Newcomer of the Year. Fields was the only unanimous All-Big 12 selection this preseason.

The Preseason Big 12 Team Poll will be released on Thursday.

2013 Preseason All-Big 12 Offense

QB – Casey Pachall (TCU)

RB – Lache Seastrunk (BU)

RB – John Hubert (KSU)

WR – Josh Stewart (OSU)

WR – Eric Ward (TTU)

TE – Jace Amaro (TTU)

OL – Cyril Richardson (BU)

OL – Cornelius Lucas (KSU)

C – Gabe Ikard (OU)

OL – Trey Hopkins (UT)

OL – Le'Raven Clark (TTU)

PK – Jaden Oberkrom (TCU)

KR – Tyler Lockett (KSU)

2013 Preseason All-Big 12 Defense

DL – Devonte Fields (TCU)

DL – Calvin Barnett (OSU)

DL – Jackson Jeffcoat (UT)

DL – Kerry Hyder (TTU)

LB – Bryce Hager (BU)

LB – Jordan Hicks (UT)

LB – Shaun Lewis (OSU)

DB – Ty Zimmerman (KSU)

DB – Jason Verrett (TCU)

DB – Aaron Colvin (OU)

DB – Quandre Diggs (UT)

P – Kirby Van Der Kamp (ISU)

PR – Tramaine Thompson (KSU)