Smart, Brown Make AP All-Big 12 Teams

Monday, March 10th 2014, 2:53 pm
By: News 9

Oklahoma State guards Marcus Smart (first-team) and Markel Brown (second-team) earned AP All-Big 12 honors on Monday. The AP teams fell in line with the Coaches' All-Big 12 teams with the exception of Baylor forward Cory Jefferson replacing Texas forward Jonathan Holmes on the second-team.

Smart finished third in the conference in scoring (17.9 ppg), fifth in assists (4.68 apg) and led the league in steals for the second-straight season (2.68 spg).

Brown was fifth in scoring (17.2), 11th in assists (3.03) and 10th in blocked shots (1.10).

The eighth-seeded Cowboys open the Big 12 Tournament against nine-seed Texas Tech on Wednesday a 6:00 p.m. The winner will face top-seeded Kansas at 2:00 p.m. on Thursday.

Coach of the Year: Lon Kruger, Oklahoma.

Player of the Year: Melvin Ejim, Iowa St.

Newcomer of the Year: *DeAndre Kane, Iowa St.

Freshman of the Year: Andrew Wiggins, Kansas.

* — Unanimous selection.

First team

*Melvin Ejim, Iowa St., Sr., 6-6, 220, Toronto, Ontario.

DeAndre Kane, Iowa St., Sr., 6-4, 200, Pittsburgh, Pa.

Marcus Smart, Oklahoma St., So., 6-4, 225, Flower Mound, Texas.

Juwan Staten, West Virginia, Jr., 6-1, 190, Dayton, Ohio.

*Andrew Wiggins, Kansas, Fr., 6-8, 200, Vaughan, Ontario.

Second team

Markel Brown, Oklahoma St., Sr., 6-3, 190, Alexandria, La.

Joel Embiid, Kansas, Fr., 7-0, 250, Yaounde, Cameroon.

Marcus Foster, Kansas St., Fr., 6-2, 200, Wichita Falls, Texas.

Buddy Hield, Oklahoma, So., 6-4, 208, Freeport, Bahamas.

Cory Jefferson, Baylor, Sr., 6-9, 220, Killeen, Texas.

Honorable mention

Kyan Anderson, TCU; Bryce Chery, Baylor; Cameron Clark, Oklahoma; Jaye Crockett, Texas Tech; Perry Ellis, Kansas; Eron Harris, West Virginia; Jonathan Holmes, Texas; Georges Niang, Iowa St.; Cameron Ridley, Texas; Ryan Spangler, Oklahoma; Isaiah Taylor, Texas.