Cowboys Claim Two Individual National Titles At Wrestling Championships

Sunday, March 23rd 2014, 12:17 am
By: News 9

The 2014 NCAA Wrestling Championships finished up Saturday night at The Peake with Oklahoma State securing a third place team finish and claiming two individual national championships.

Chris Perry (174) and Alex Dieringer (157) each picked up a national championship for the Cowboys, while Josh Kindig (149) and Tyler Caldwell (165) finished in second place.

Oklahoma's Andrew Howe (174) lost to Perry in the title bout to settle for second place. The Sooners totaled three All-Americans at the championships.

The Cowboys were still in contention for the team national title, but Kindig suffered an overtime defeat, making the competition a two-team race between Penn State and Minnesota. The Nittany Lions eventually won the title, the team's fourth consecutive national championship.

2014 NCAA Champions

Alex Dieringer, Oklahoma State, 157 lbs

Chris Perry, Oklahoma State, 174 lbs




Josh Kindig (149)

Alex Dieringer (157)

Tyler Caldwell (165)

Chris Perry (174)

Austin Marsden (HWT)



Cody Brewer (133)

Kendric Maple (149)

Andrew Howe (174)