Cowboy Closer McCurry Hauling In Awards

Friday, June 6th 2014, 3:39 pm
By: News 9

Oklahoma State pitcher Brendan McCurry has been named the 2014 NCBWA District VI Co-Player of the Year, it was announced today by the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association.

McCurry, the Cowboys' closer, shares the award with Wichita State first baseman Casey Gillaspie. The NCBWA District VI includes the schools in Iowa, Missouri, Kansas, Oklahoma, Nebraska, North Dakota and South Dakota.

A native of Tupelo, Okla., McCurry has already earned Louisville Slugger Second-Team All-America and All-Big 12 Conference First Team honors, and earlier this week he was also named one of five finalists for the NCBWA Stopper of the Year Award. The senior right-hander has made a school-record 34 appearances this season and is 5-0 with a 0.39 ERA while ranking fourth in the NCAA with 19 saves. He has allowed just two runs in 46.0 innings and has given up only 29 hits while recording 53 strikeouts.

McCurry has shattered the OSU records for single-season and career saves. In April, he surpassed Jordy Mercer as the Cowboys' career saves leader. Mercer recorded 17 saves from 2006-08, while McCurry's career total now stands at 27.

Additionally, McCurry's 19 saves this season bested OSU's previous best of 10, set by his older brother, Randy (2009), as well as Marques Davis (1997) and Dennis Livingston (1982).