Dean Blevins Honored As Gaylord College Distinguished Alumnus

Thursday, October 16th 2014, 7:02 pm
By: News 9

The JayMac Alumni Association of the University of Oklahoma's Gaylord College of Journalism and Mass Communication recognized three graduates with the 2014 Distinguished Alumni award. Our very own News 9 sports director, Dean Blevins was one of the three alumni recognized.

The JayMac Distinguished Alumni award is bestowed annually upon alumni who have distinguished themselves and their organizations with outstanding careers.

About Dean Blevins

Class of 1978, Journalism

Dean Blevins has held the position of NEWS 9 Sports Director since 2001 and has more than 30 years of broadcast experience in the state of Oklahoma. Blevins is a two-time Emmy Award winner and has been voted the Oklahoma Sportscaster of the Year eight times by the National Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association.

Blevins has announced college football and basketball games for 25 years, including 14 years for CBS, ABC and ESPN. Beginning in 1985, Blevins has hosted coaches TV and radio shows for Oklahoma coaches including Barry Switzer, Bob Stoops, Jerry Jones, and Eddie Sutton.

Blevins anchors NEWS 9 Sports weekdays and can also be seen co-anchoring the statewide "Oklahoma Sports Blitz" every Sunday night. He has earned a top spot in the pro league of Oklahoma sports broadcasters. In addition to his television broadcasts, he is a co-host of the popular weekday drive-time radio show, "The Total Dominance Hour" on The Sports Animal in Oklahoma City and has hosted his own website since 1990.

About the Gaylord College

The Gaylord College of Journalism and Mass Communication is one of the top five degree-granting units on the Norman campus of the University of Oklahoma with an average of 1,200 students each year. The college grants Bachelor of Arts degrees in journalism with emphases in advertising, broadcasting and electronic media, journalism, professional writing and public relations. Master of Arts and Doctor of Philosophy degrees are also conferred.