Big 12 Basketball: Hield Player of the Year, Sooners and Cowboys Earn Honors

Sunday, March 8th 2015, 5:32 pm
By: News 9

The Big 12 conference released the All-Big 12 awards on Sunday and several Oklahoma and Oklahoma State players dotted the various teams.

Buddy Hield highlighted the selections by being named Big 12 Player of the Year. The junior leads the Big 12 with his 17.4 points and 2.7 3-pointers a game, and leads league guards with his 5.5 rebounds a contest. On Saturday, he was one of 15 players named to the John R. Wooden Award ballot for national player of the year.

"I'm just humbled," said Hield of the Big 12 honor. "(Assistant) Coach (Chris) Crutchfield called me and told me. I just soaked it up. I didn't want to get too excited about it because I'm focused on winning a Big 12 championship this week. But I do feel really blessed.

"Thank God for my teammates. They got me the ball in great position to score all year. They brought the best out in me and push me in practice every day. They inspire me with how hard they work. They make me compete hard. All of them have played a special part in this award. I'd also like to thank our coaches; Coach (Lon) Kruger and all the assistants. Those guys all keep pushing us and are there for us. They're like second fathers to me."

Hield was joined on the All-Big 12 First Team by Baylor's Rico Gathers, Iowa State's Georges Niang, Kansas' Perry Ellis and West Virginia's Juwan Staten.

TaShawn Thomas was named Big 12 Newcomer of the Year after transferring from Houston. The senior is averaging 11.1 points, 6.2 rebounds and 1.4 blocks per game while shooting .514 from the field.

Oklahoma State's Le'Bryan Nash earned a spot on the All-Big 12 second team, Phil Forte was named to the third team, Anthony Hickey and Michael Cobbins were All-Defensive selections and Hickey was a member of the All-Newcomer team.

Here's a list of the complete All-Big 12 awards.

2014-15 Big 12 Honors

Coach of the Year: Bob Huggins, West Virginia

Player of the Year: Buddy Hield, Oklahoma

Defensive Player of the Year: Jameel McKay, Iowa State

Sixth Man Award: Taurean Prince, Baylor

Newcomer of the Year: TaShawn Thomas, Oklahoma

Freshman of the Year: Myles Turner, Texas

All-Big 12 First Team

Rico Gathers, Baylor, F

Georges Niang, Iowa State, F

Perry Ellis, Kansas, F

Buddy Hield, Oklahoma, G

Juwan Staten, West Virginia, G

All-Big 12 Second Team

Kenny Chery, Baylor, G

Taurean Prince, Baylor, F

Monté Morris, Iowa State, G

Frank Mason III, Kansas, G

Le'Bryan Nash, Oklahoma State, F

All-Big 12 Third Team

Jameel McKay, Iowa State, F

TaShawn Thomas, Oklahoma, F

Phil Forte, Oklahoma State, G

Isaiah Taylor, Texas, G

Myles Turner, Texas. F

All-Big 12 Honorable Mention (Listed alphabetically by school)

Dustin Hogue (Iowa State), Kelly Oubre (Kansas), Wayne Selden (Kansas), Marcus Foster (Kansas State), Thomas Gipson (Kansas State), Nino Williams (Kansas State), Isaiah Cousins (Oklahoma), Ryan Spangler (Oklahoma), Kyan Anderson (TCU), Jonathan Holmes (Texas), Devin Williams (West Virginia)

Big 12 All-Defensive Team

Rico Gathers, Baylor, F

Jameel McKay, Iowa State, F

Michael Cobbins, Oklahoma State, F

Anthony Hickey, Oklahoma State, G

Myles Turner, Texas, F

Jevon Carter, West Virginia, G

Big 12 All-Newcomer Team

Jameel McKay, Iowa State, F

Kelly Oubre, Kansas, G

TaShawn Thomas, Oklahoma, F

Anthony Hickey, Oklahoma State, G

Myles Turner, Texas, F