Energy FC's Nielsen, Newton And König Named Finalists For 2015 USL Awards

Monday, October 19th 2015, 12:28 pm
By: News 9

Forward Danni König, goalkeeper Evan Newton and coach Jimmy Nielsen have been named finalists for 2015 USL Awards the league announced Monday. Eastern Conference Finalist Louisville City FC and Western Conference Finalist OKC Energy FC led the way with three nominations apiece.

The 2015 USL Awards will be announced from October 26-30, alongside the 2015 USL All-League Teams. Voting was conducted by team management and a national panel of media in each USL market. Fans will also get the opportunity to vote this week, ahead of the final announcement.

The 2015 USL All-League Team will be announced on Monday, October 26.

2015 USL Award Finalists
Goalkeeper of the Year
Odisnel Cooper, Charleston Battery
Brandon Miller, Rochester Rhinos
Evan Newton, OKC Energy FC

Defender of the Year
Bryan Burke, Louisville City FC
Shawn Ferguson, Charleston Battery
Daniel Steres, LA Galaxy II

Coach of the Year
Bob Lilley, Rochester Rhinos
Jimmy Nielsen, OKC Energy FC
James O'Connor, Louisville City FC
Steve Trittschuh, Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC

Rookie of the Year
Brady Ballew, Tulsa Roughnecks FC
Kharlton Belmar, Portland Timbers 2
Ken Tribbett, Harrisburg City Islanders

Most Valuable Player
Matt Fondy, Louisville City FC
Danni König, OKC Energy FC
Luke Vercollone, Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC