The kick heard round the world will not result in a suspension for Warriors forward Draymond Green, according to the leage and first reported by The Vertical. The foul, which was ruled a Flagrant 1 on Sunday night, has been changed to a more serious Flagrant 2 but Green will be on the court for Game 4. Green will also be fined $25,000 for the foul.
Draymond Green kicks Steven Adams below the belt, gets a Flagrant 1 https://t.co/adbNEOBUlo— The Cauldron (ICYMI) (@CauldronICYMI) May 23, 2016
Draymond Green kicks Steven Adams below the belt, gets a Flagrant 1 https://t.co/adbNEOBUlo
What makes the play so peculiar is that Green also made contact with Adams in the same area on a drive in Game 2. Green was adamant in the locker room after the game that he wouldn't have done that on purpose, and believed the flagrant ruling would ultimately be rescinded.
"I don't know how anybody could say I did that on purpose regardless of how it looks," Green said.
Draymond Green defends himself by saying his kick on Steven Adams was an accident. pic.twitter.com/uxVtqgKHzj— SportsCenter (@SportsCenter) May 23, 2016
Draymond Green defends himself by saying his kick on Steven Adams was an accident. pic.twitter.com/uxVtqgKHzj
While Green was busy pleading his innocence, Thunder point guard Russell Westbrook wasn't buying it.
"Honestly, I think it's intentional," Westbrook said at the podium after the game. "That's two times in the last two games. I don't think you can keep (hitting) somebody in their private areas."
Russell Westbrook doesn't hold back his thoughts on Draymond Green's kickhttps://t.co/UVl9hCMauh— Bleacher Report (@BleacherReport) May 23, 2016
Russell Westbrook doesn't hold back his thoughts on Draymond Green's kickhttps://t.co/UVl9hCMauh
A suspension would've had huge implications on the series, seeing Green is known as the emotional leader of the Warriors and his absence in Game 4 could've been detrimental in Golden State's chances to repeat as champions.