President Obama Signs Disaster Declaration For 6 Oklahoma Counties

Friday, July 15th 2016, 5:25 pm
By: News 9

President Barack Obama has signed a disaster declaration for six Oklahoma counties, clearing the way for federal aid following severe storms and flooding last month.

Obama signed the order Friday to help supplement state and local recovery efforts following severe storms June 11-13. Federal funding will be available for emergency work and repairs to facilities damaged by storms in Caddo, Comanche, Cotton, Garvin, Grady and Stephens counties.

In addition, Oklahoma Gov. Mary Fallin declared a state of emergency Friday for 35 Oklahoma counties following severe storms, strong winds, tornadoes and flooding earlier this week.

Fallin's executive order allows state agencies to make emergency purchases for disaster relief and preparedness. It's also the first step toward seeking federal aid.

Severe storms since Wednesday have damaged structures in central and eastern Oklahoma.