Mason Rudolph Wins Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award

Thursday, November 30th 2017, 3:14 pm

By: News 9

Oklahoma State quarterback Mason Rudolph is the winner of the 2017 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award, the Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation announced on Thursday.

The award goes to an outstanding fourth or fifth-year player on schedule to graduate with their class. In addition to the accomplishments on the field, candidates are judged on their character, citizenship, scholastic achievement, and leadership qualities.

Rudolph led the Cowboys to a 31-9 record as a starter, beaten every Big 12 team during his career and ranks fourth all-time in Big 12 career passing yards with 13,267.

He’s thrown for 4,553 yards and 35 touchdowns with nine interceptions this year. The Rock Hill, South Carolina product also has 10 rushing scores and his total – 45 touchdowns accounted for – leads the nation.

The 22-year-old is also OSU’s most active player in community service activities.

Past winners of the Golden Arm Award include: Peyton Manning (Tennessee, 1997); Carson Palmer (USC, 2002); Eli Manning (Ole Miss, 2003); Matt Ryan (Boston College, 2007); Colt McCoy (Texas, 2009); Andrew Luck (Stanford, 2011), Marcus Mariota (Oregon, 2014), Connor Cook (Michigan State, 2015) and last year’s winner Deshaun Watson, (Clemson, 2016).

Rudolph will receive the award at a ceremony to be held Dec. 8th in Baltimore. Former Baltimore Colts center Bill Curry will present the honor to Rudolph.


Get The Daily Update!

Be among the first to get breaking news, weather, and general news updates from News 9 delivered right to your inbox!

More Like This

November 30th, 2017

November 7th, 2022

July 20th, 2022

August 31st, 2021

Top Headlines

December 3rd, 2022

December 3rd, 2022

December 2nd, 2022

December 2nd, 2022