All-Big 12 Football Teams Feature Nine Cowboys

Thursday, November 30th 2017, 5:18 pm
By: News 9

The 2017 All-Big 12 football teams were announced by the conference office Thursday, with six Cowboys honored on the first team and three honored on the second team. OSU's six first-team players are tied for the most in the conference, and its nine total selections are second in the league.

Selections were made by the league's 10 head coaches, who are not permitted to vote for their own players.

The first-team Cowboy picks are led by James Washington at wide receiver, who is one of just four unanimous selections to the team. He's joined on the first team by Justice Hill at running back, Zachary Crabtree at offensive line, Brad Lundblade at offensive line, DeQuinton Osborne at defensive line and Tre Flowers at safety.

Washington is a repeat selection from the 2016 first team, while Hill, Crabtree and Flowers were all honored on the second team last season.

Quarterback Mason Rudolph, wide receiver Marcell Ateman and defensive lineman Jordan Brailford were honored on the 2017 second team, with each of them receiving their first all-conference honors from the coaches.

In addition to OSU's nine all-conference picks, 12 received honorable mention recognition, including Britton Abbott (fullback), Matt Ammendola (kicker), Keenen Brown (tight end), Calvin Bundage (linebacker), Crabtree (Offensive Lineman of the Year), Osborne (Defensive Lineman of the Year), Justin Phillips (linebacker), Ramon Richards (defensive back), Rudolph (Offensive Player of the Year), Zach Sinor (punter), Dillon Stoner (Offensive Freshman of the Year) and Chad Whitener (linebacker).

2017 All-Big 12 Football First Team

Justice Hill, Running Back
James Washington, Wide Receiver (unanimous selection)
Zachary Crabtree, Offensive Line
Brad Lundblade, Offensive Line
DeQuinton Osborne, Defensive Line
Tre Flowers, Safety

2017 All-Big 12 Football Second Team

Mason Rudolph, Quarterback
Marcell Ateman, Wide Receiver
Jordan Brailford, Defensive Line

2017 All-Big 12 Football Honorable Mention

Britton Abbott (Fullback)
Matt Ammendola (Kicker)
Keenen Brown (Tight End)
Calvin Bundage (Linebacker)
Zachary Crabtree (Offensive Lineman of the Year)
DeQuinton Osborne (Defensive Lineman of the Year)
Justin Phillips (Linebacker)
Ramon Richards (Defensive Back)
Mason Rudolph (Offensive Player of the Year)
Zach Sinor (Punter)
Dillon Stoner (Offensive Freshman of the Year)
Chad Whitener (Linebacker)