Falk Slips By Mayfield To Win Burlsworth Trophy

Monday, December 4th 2017, 3:46 pm
By: News 9

Washington State quarterback Luke Falk has won the 2017 Burlsworth Trophy over two-time recipient Baker Mayfield, the Burlsworth Foundation announced Monday.

The Burlsworth Trophy annually honors the most outstanding college football player in America who began his career as a walk-on.

Mayfield has now missed out on two awards that were thought to be in the bag for the fifth-year senior. Last week, Mason Rudolph won the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award. Mayfield is still a finalist for several more awards and is the frontrunner to win the Heisman Trophy.

Read Also: Mason Rudolph Wins Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award

He’s still up for the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award (most outstanding player), the Manning Award (quarterback award that takes bowl performance into consideration), Maxwell Award (best all-around), and Davey O’Brien Award (top quarterback) plus the Heisman Trophy.