Mayfield Wins Twice At College Football Awards Ceremony

Thursday, December 7th 2017, 6:58 pm
By: News 9

Sooner senior quarterback Baker Mayfield won a pair of awards presented tonight at the Home Depot College Football Awards.

Mayfield won both the Davey O'Brien Award for best quarterback and the Maxwell Award for best all-around player. Mayfield is also a finalist for the Heisman Trophy, to be presented Saturday evening.

Mayfield finished the season with 41 touchdowns and only five interceptions. He threw for 4,340 yards with a 71 percent completion percentage, his highest while at Oklahoma.

For the Davey O'Brien Award, Mayfield beat in-state rival Oklahoma State's Mason Rudolph and J.T. Barrett of Ohio State. Mayfield beat both Rudolph and Barrett in games this season.

To win the Maxwell Award, he beat out Penn State running back Saquon Barkley and Stanford running back Bryce Love. Love was the second-leading rusher in the nation this season.

Junior placeholder and quarterback Connor McGinnis was named Mortell Award winner for holder of the year over Mac Loudermilk of Central Florida and Notre Dame's Montgomery VanGorder. 

Junior tackle Orlando Brown was nominated for the Outland Trophy, given to the best interior lineman. Houston's Ed Oliver won that, also beating out Notre Dame's Quenton Nelson.

Junior tight end Mark Andrews was named Mackey Award winner on Wednesday.