STILLWATER, Oklahoma - The Oklahoma State women's basketball team has faced a lot this season, but with their heads held high, they persevered and are now being recognized for their accomplishments.

The Cowgirls have been named one of three finalists for the Russell Athletic "Together We R" Team Award which honors a program that strived to succeed through the season in the face of adversity.

The honor is presented to the squad that overcomes extraordinary circumstances such as an unforeseen team crisis, barrier or unfortunate situation. The team must exemplify strong commitment to core values of togetherness, courage, unparalleled work ethic and heart, and must personify the "Together We R" belief that teams are stronger than individuals.

In addition to OSU, Indiana Wesleyan and Middle Tennessee are the other finalists for the award. Each school has submitted a video telling their story and fans will help decide who wins.

Fans can vote by "liking" the video for the team they think is most deserving of the award. The fans' choice, determined by the video receiving the most "likes," will receive one additional vote when the selection committee selects the winner.

Oklahoma State lost head coach Kurt Budke and assistant Miranda Serna, along with two OSU alumni supporters Olin and Paula Branstetter, while returning from a recruiting trip as the plane they were flying in went down in Arkansas on Nov. 17, 2011.

Top-ranked Indiana Wesleyan (32-2) lost two leading players to ACL tears and a third, who left the team for personal reasons. While those were heart wrenching, none were as hard to handle as the loss of a fourth teammate to colon and liver cancer.

Middle Tennessee State has broken every team huddle with ‘Together for T on 3' since the start of the season. Following the death of teammate Tina Stewart last March, the Blue Raiders have worn her number – 20 – with pride, striving to carry on her ‘go hard or go home' mentality. The Sun Belt Conference tournament runners-up boast a 26-6 record and landed three student-athletes on the conference championship's all-tournament team – more than any other institution.

The recipient of the "Together We R" Team Award will be announced and formally recognized during the second annual WBCA Awards Show, which will be held at 5 p.m. MT Monday, April 2, at the Sheraton Downtown Denver.