President issues major disaster declaration for seven counties - - Oklahoma City, OK - News, Weather, Video and Sports |

President issues major disaster declaration for seven counties

Posted: Updated:


President Bush issued a major disaster declaration for seven counties. They are Cleveland, Lincoln, Mayes, Oklahoma, Pottawatomie, Tulsa and Wagoner counties. The declaration will make assistance available to cities and certain non-profit agencies. It offers relief for things like power restoration, debris removal and operating shelters.

"We are conducting damage assessments in every county that is reporting damage," said Gov. Brad Henry. "If those counties meet the damage threshold, they will be added to the declaration."

The governor expects about 15 additional counties to be added Friday. The Federal Emergency Management Agency and state emergency crews are also surveying damage to individuals, but no word yet on when help will be available.

Powered by Frankly
News 9
7401 N. Kelley Ave.
Oklahoma City, OK 73111 is proud to provide Oklahomans with timely and relevant news and information, sharing the stories, pictures and loves of Oklahomans across our great state.
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 KWTV. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.