Disaster designation for 4 Oklahoma counties due to drought - News9.com - Oklahoma City, OK - News, Weather, Video and Sports |

Disaster designation for 4 Oklahoma counties due to drought

Posted: Updated:

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) - Gov. Mary Fallin's office says four counties in northeastern Oklahoma have been designated disaster areas because of drought, making farmers and ranchers eligible for federal assistance.

Fallin's office said Friday that U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Sonny Perdue notified Fallin of the designation, which makes farmers and ranchers in adjoining counties in Oklahoma, Arkansas, Missouri and Kansas also eligible for aid.

The primary counties are Nowata, Rogers, Mayes and Delaware.

Adjacent counties are Washington, Tulsa, Wagoner, Cherokee, Adair, Craig and Ottawa in Oklahoma; Montgomery and Labette counties in Kansas; McDonald County, Missouri and Benton County, Arkansas.

The declaration means farmers and ranchers in the counties can apply for certain types of aid, including emergency loans.

Local Farm Service Agency offices will have information on the declaration and how to apply for assistance.

Copyright 2018 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Powered by Frankly
News 9
7401 N. Kelley Ave.
Oklahoma City, OK 73111
News9.com is proud to provide Oklahomans with timely and relevant news and information, sharing the stories, pictures and loves of Oklahomans across our great state.
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 KWTV. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.