Sooners, Cowboys Litter All-Big 12 Teams - - Oklahoma City, OK - News, Weather, Video and Sports |

Sooners, Cowboys Litter All-Big 12 Teams

Posted: Updated:
IRVING, Texas -

The All-Big 12 Football Awards are littered with Sooners and Cowboys, fitting of course, as OU and OSU finished No. 1 and No. 2 in the conference standings. The awards were voted on by the league’s coaches who couldn’t vote for themselves or their own players. Between them, the Oklahoma schools made up 40 percent (12/30) of the All-Big 12 First Team mentions.

Bob Stoops won Coach of the Year for the fifth time (2000, 2003, 2006, 2008, 2015).

Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield was chosen for Offensive Player of the Year. He joins Sam Bradford (2008), Jason White (2003, 2004) and Josh Heupel (2000) as Sooner signal callers to win the award.

Oklahoma State defensive end Emmanuel Ogbah is the Co-Defensive Player of the Year with Baylor’s Andrew Billings. Ogbah becomes the first Cowboy to win Big 12 DPOY.

Oklahoma receiver DeDe Westbrook was named Offensive Newcomer of the Year joining fellow Sooners Adrian Peterson (2004) and Josh Heupel (1999) to earn the award.

2015 All-Big 12 First Team Offense

QB – Baker Mayfield (JR, Oklahoma)

RB – Samaje Perine (SO, Oklahoma)

RB – DeAndre Washington (SR, Texas Tech)

FB – Winston Dimel (FR, Kansas State)

WR – Corey Coleman (JR, Baylor)

WR – Sterling Shepard (SR, Oklahoma)

WR – Josh Doctson (SR, TCU)

TE – Blake Jarwin (JR, Oklahoma State)

OL – Spencer Drango (SR, Baylor)

OL – Cody Whitehair (SR, Kansas State)

OL – Ty Darlington (SR, Oklahoma)

OL – Nila Kasitati (SR, Oklahoma)

OL – Joey Hunt (SR, TCU)

OL – Le’Raven Clark (SR, Texas Tech)

PK – Jack Cantele (SR, Kansas State)

KR/PR – Morgan Burns (SR, Kansas State)

2015 All-Big 12 First Team Defense

DL – Andrew Billings (JR, Baylor)

DL – Charles Tapper (SR, Oklahoma)

DL – Emmanuel Ogbah (JR, Oklahoma State)

DL – Davion Pierson (SR, TCU)

DL – Josh Carraway (JR, TCU)

LB – Dominique Alexander (JR, Oklahoma)

LB – Eric Striker (SR, Oklahoma)

LB – Nick Kwiatkoski (SR, West Virginia)

DB – Xavien Howard (JR, Baylor)

DB – Zack Sanchez (JR, Oklahoma)

DB – Kevin Peterson (SR, Oklahoma State)

DB – Derrick Kindred (SR, TCU)

DB – Daryl Worley (JR, West Virginia)

P – Nick O’Toole (SR, West Virginia)

2015 All-Big 12 Second Team Offense

QB – Trevone Boykin (SR, TCU)

RB – Shock Linwood (JR, Baylor)

RB – Wendell Smallwood (JR, West Virginia)

FB – Alex De La Torre (SR, Texas)

WR – KD Cannon (SO, Baylor)

WR – James Washington (SO, Oklahoma State)

WR – Jakeem Grant (SR, Texas Tech)

TE – Mark Andrews (FR, Oklahoma)

OL – Jarell Broxton (SR, Baylor)

OL – Kyle Fuller (JR, Baylor)

OL – Jamison Lalk (SR, Iowa State)

OL – Halapoulivaati Vaitai (SR, TCU)

OL – Tyler Orlovsky (JR, West Virginia)

PK – Jaden Oberkrom (SR, TCU)

KR/PR – Jakeem Grant (SR, Texas Tech)

2015 All-Big 12 Second Team Defense

DL – Shawn Oakman (SR, Baylor)

DL – Dale Pierson (SR, Iowa State)

DL – Travis Britz (SR, Kansas State)

DL – Charles Walker (SO, Oklahoma)

DL – Jimmy Bean (SR, Oklahoma State)

LB – Peter Jinkens (SR, Texas)

LB – Elijah Lee (SO, Kansas State)

LB – Jordan Evans (SR, Oklahoma)

DB – Fish Smithson (JR, Kansas)

DB – Ahmad Thomas (JR, Oklahoma)

DB – Jordan Thomas (SO, Oklahoma)

DB – Jordan Sterns (JR, Oklahoma State)

DB – KJ Dillon (SR, West Virginia)

P – Austin Seibert (FR, Oklahoma)

Live Radar

WARN Interactive

Featured on

  • OU Sooners

    Find the latest sports news, schedules and more for the OU Sooners now!

  • OSU Cowboys

    Get all your OSU Cowboys information from sports highlights to the latest news & videos.

  • OKC Thunder

    Thunder Up! Get the latest sports news, game highlights, videos and updates on the team.

  • OKC Dodgers

    Cheer on the OKC Dodgers. Get your tickets and team information today.

Powered by Frankly
News 9
7401 N. Kelley Ave.
Oklahoma City, OK 73111 is proud to provide Oklahomans with timely and relevant news and information, sharing the stories, pictures and loves of Oklahomans across our great state.
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 KWTV. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.