OSU Cross Country Coach Named National Men's Coach of the Year - News9.com - Oklahoma City, OK - News, Weather, Video and Sports |

OSU Cross Country Coach Named National Men's Coach of the Year

Posted: Updated:
STILLWATER, Oklahoma -

Oklahoma State men's cross country head coach Dave Smith was named the Bill Dellinger National Men's Coach of the Year by the United States Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association.

Smith led the Cowboys to their third NCAA title in the last four years. At this year's championships, OSU (72) won by a 63-point margin over runner-up and defending national champion Wisconsin (135). The 72 points by OSU was the best team score to win the national title since Wisconsin in 2005 (37).

Led by Girma Mecheso, who finished fifth overall, the Cowboys picked up a national-leading four All-America honors. Tom Farrell (ninth), Shadrack Kipchirchir (18th), and Joseph Manilafasha (24th) also captured honors from the USTFCCCA.

The Cowboys tied for the NCAA Midwest crown with Oklahoma – their eighth region title in 10 years. OSU also claimed their fifth-straight Big 12 crown, winning this year's tally with only 24 points.

This is the third time Smith has received USTFCCCA National Men's Coach of the Year honors ('09 and '10). He was also named the 2012 Big 12 Men's Coach of the Year earlier this month.

Live Radar

WARN Interactive

More Sports

  • OU Sooners

    Find the latest sports news, schedules and more for the OU Sooners now!

  • OKC Thunder

    Thunder Up! Get the latest sports news, game highlights, videos and updates on the team.

  • TU Golden Hurricane

    Follow the TU Golden Hurricane! Get sports scores, news and highlights.

  • ORU Golden Eagles

    ORU Golden Eagles fans can find the latest news on the team, scores and video here!

Powered by Frankly
News 9
7401 N. Kelley Ave.
Oklahoma City, OK 73111
News9.com is proud to provide Oklahomans with timely and relevant news and information, sharing the stories, pictures and loves of Oklahomans across our great state.
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 KWTV. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.