2002: OSU Dedicates 'Remember The 10' Memorial At Gallagher-Iba - News9.com - Oklahoma City, OK - News, Weather, Video and Sports |

Back to Main

2002: OSU Dedicates 'Remember The 10' Memorial At Gallagher-Iba


February 23, 2002

STILLWATER, Oklahoma -- Oklahoma State University dedicated a memorial site to remember the 10 members of the OSU basketball family who lost their lives in a January 27, 2001 plane crash in Colorado.

A granite memorial inside Gallagher-Iba Arena bears the names of Denver Mills, Nate Fleming, Dan Lawson, Jared Weiberg, Pat Noyes, Bill Teegins, Will Hancock, Brian Luinstra, Kendall Durfey and Bjorn Fahlstrom.  

"As people pass by, [they] have the opportunity to stop and reflect on the 10 wonderful people that we lost and their influence on our lives," said OSU athletic director Terry Don Phillips.

A bronze statue, titled "We Will Remember," also honors their memory.

A mourning cowboy kneeling reflects the impact of the crash on the entire OSU family.

The university commissioned noted Western sculptor, Harold Holden of Kremlin, to create a symbol of the university's loss.

"In my heart, you will not die. We will keep them in our hearts. Let us all collectively commit to that with our last breath," said OSU President James Halligan.

At the end of the ceremony, one year old Andy Hancock was more than filled with joy to pose for pictures right on top of the memorial.

She was only 10 weeks old when her father Will was lost in the crash.

"From the cowboy to the child," one Hancock family member said. "The heritage will last forever, and the love passes from generation to generation."


Powered by Frankly
News 9
7401 N. Kelley Ave.
Oklahoma City, OK 73111
News9.com is proud to provide Oklahomans with timely and relevant news and information, sharing the stories, pictures and loves of Oklahomans across our great state.
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 KWTV. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.