State of Emergency Includes 59 Counties in Wake of Flooding - - Oklahoma City, OK - News, Weather, Video and Sports |

State of Emergency Includes 59 Counties in Wake of Flooding

Posted: Updated:

OKLAHOMA CITY – A state of emergency has been declared for 59 counties following severe storms and flooding that began Sunday.

At the request of Gov. Henry, who is out of state, Lt. Gov. Jari Askins approved the paperwork declaring the emergency.

"We urge everyone to use caution as storms continue across our state," Lt. Gov. Jari Askins said. "Once again our heroic responders have demonstrated the ‘Oklahoma Standard.' I want to extend my thanks to the emergency crews and the news media for keeping the public safe and informed during this life-threatening crisis."

Counties included in the release are: Alfalfa, Beaver, Beckham, Blaine, Caddo, Canadian, Carter, Cherokee, Cleveland, Comanche, Cotton, Craig, Creek, Custer, Delaware, Dewey, Garfield, Garvin, Grady, Grant, Greer, Harmon, Hughes, Jackson, Jefferson, Kay, Kingfisher, Kiowa, Lincoln, Logan, Major, McClain, McIntosh, Mayes, Murray, Muskogee, Noble, Nowata, Oklahoma, Okfuskee, Okmulgee, Osage, Ottawa, Pawnee, Payne, Pontotoc, Pottawatomie, Roger Mills, Rogers, Seminole, Stephens, Texas, Tillman, Tulsa, Wagoner, Washington, Washita, Woods and Woodward.

The declaration allows local governments to seek reimbursement for recovery costs through the state's disaster public assistance program and could lead to federal aid if necessary.

Additional counties could possibly be added to list if necessary.

More rain and severe storms are possible throughout the night into Tuesday.

Powered by Frankly
News 9
7401 N. Kelley Ave.
Oklahoma City, OK 73111 is proud to provide Oklahomans with timely and relevant news and information, sharing the stories, pictures and loves of Oklahomans across our great state.
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 KWTV. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.